Derbyshire County Council has taken over responsibility for enforcing parking restrictions on the streets of Derbyshire (excluding Derby city) and traditional traffic wardens have been replaced by Civil Enforcement Officers (CEOs).

The rules on parking haven't changed - only who will be issuing PCNs. New teams of civil enforcement officers will be out and about across Derbyshire and they will issue PCNs to motorists who don't stick to the parking rules.

What CPE Enforces  What the police deal with  What both deal with
  • Limited Waiting Bays
  • Double/Single yellow lines
  • On-street pay and display bays
  • Residents parking zones
  • Blue Badge bays
  • Loading bays
  • Bus Stops
  • Taxi Bays
  • School keep clears
  • Clearways
  • Car parks (with orders)
  • Double white lines
  • Obstructions (eg pavements with no parking restrictions)
  • Dangerous parking (eg on bends, brows of hills, junctions)
  • One way traffic
  • Box junctions
  • Access only
  • White hatched areas
  • Dropped kerb access
  • Double parking
  • Pedestrian crossings

Parking enforcement will:

  • improve safety for everyone using the roads and pavements

  • keep roads free from obstruction and keep the traffic moving

  • prevent abuse of blue badge spaces for disabled people

  • help make short stay spaces in town centre car parks more available for shoppers

  • make sure emergency services vehicles and buses can get to where they need to go.


This is known as Civil Parking Enforcement (CPE) and ParkSmarter is the civil parking enforcement partnership that will enforce off-street and on-street car parking in Derbyshire.

On the ParkSmarter website you can pay any Penalty Charge Notice (PCNs) you receive, find out how to challenge or appeal your PCN, and access our polices on enforcement and parking. If you pay the PCN within 14 days the charge will be £35 for a serious offence or £25 for a minor offence. These rise to either £70 or £50 after 14 days.

ParkSmarter is a partnership between Derbyshire County Council and the eight district and borough councils:

  • Amber Valley Borough Council

  • Bolsover District Council

  • Chesterfield Borough Council

  • Derbyshire Dales District Council

  • Erewash Borough Council

  • High Peak Borough Council

  • North East Derbyshire District Council

  • South Derbyshire District Council.

It does not include Derby City Council.

Erewash Borough Council

Erewash Borough Council, Town Hall, Wharncliffe Road, Ilkeston, Derbyshire, DE7 5RP
0115 907 2244
DC Employer