There will be 116 candidates standing in next month’s Erewash Borough Council elections, which take place on Thursday 2 May.

Following the close of nominations, the 116 were formally confirmed. Four political parties plus one Independent will be represented in the elections, which will see 47 councillors elected in total to represent the borough’s 19 wards. 

The political parties taking part and the number of candidates each are fielding in the borough elections are as follows: 

• Conservative Party (47 candidates)
• Labour Party (47 candidates)
• Liberal Democrats ( 19 candidates)
• Independent (1)
• UKIP Make Brexit Happen (2 candidates)

A full list of the candidates and the wards they are contesting can be found here and the candidates for the parish wards can be found here.

There 19 wards within Erewash and the number of councillors to be elected in each are:

North of the borough
Awsworth Road (2); Cotmanhay (2); Hallam Fields (2); Kirk Hallam and Stanton-by-Dale (3); Larklands (3); Little Eaton and Stanley (2); Little Hallam (2); Shipley View (2); West Hallam and Dale Abbey (3).

South of the borough
Breaston (2); Derby Road East (2); Derby Road West (3); Draycott and Risley (2); Long Eaton Central (3); Nottingham Road (2); Ockbrook and Borrowash (3); Sandiacre (3); Sawley (3); Wilsthorpe (3).

Erewash Borough Council

Erewash Borough Council, Town Hall, Wharncliffe Road, Ilkeston, Derbyshire, DE7 5RP
0115 907 2244
DC Employer