A by-election to elect a councillor for Sawley Parish Council will take place on Thursday 2 November.

Two candidates have been nominated to stand in the by-election:

  • Denise Bond, representing the Labour Party
  • John Francis Hay-Heddle, representing the Conservative Party

Polling will take place between 7am–10pm, with polling stations at Sawley Community Centre and All Saints Church on Tamworth Road.

The count will take place at Sawley Community Centre after the close of poll at 10pm.

Any residents who are not registered to vote have until Tuesday 17 October to register. For anyone wishing to vote by post the deadline for receipt of applications is 5pm, Wednesday 18 October and the deadline for receipt of applications to vote by proxy is 5pm, Wednesday 25 October.

Anyone wanting more information can contact Erewash Borough Council’s elections team via email at or call 0115 907 1190.

Erewash Borough Council

Erewash Borough Council, Town Hall, Wharncliffe Road, Ilkeston, Derbyshire, DE7 5RP
0115 907 2244
DC Employer